We have the the Women’s 200m Individual Medley SM10 Final  to look forward to this evening at Tollcross International Swimming Pool.

Even though there are no homegrown athletes taking part, it should still be a fantastic race. To help you enjoy it even more why not refresh your memory on what the term  SM10 actually means?


Para-swimming classification is a function-based classification system designed to allow for fair competition in disability swimming.  Swimmers with physical disabilities are divided into ten classes based on their degree of functional disability. Those with visual impairments are placed in three additional classes. 

The Prefix
S denotes freestyle, backstroke and butterfly.
SB denotes breaststroke.
SM denotes individual medley.

The Numbering
1-10: Swimmers with a physical disability. The lower the number, the more severe the disability.

11-13: Swimmers with a visual impairment.

14: Swimmers with an intellectual disability.

The prefix and class number provide a range of classifications, from swimmers with severe disability (S1, SB1, SM1) to those with minimal disability (S10, SB9, SM10).

Swimmers may have a classification that varies according to their event – for example, it may change between breaststroke and backstroke, according to the effect of their disability on the event in question.

The rules regarding strokes, turns and the length of time that swimmers may remain under water are similar to those for the Swimmers may dive in or start in the water. Swimmers may not use any assistive technology while competing

The classification system was originally based on medical criteria, but has since moved to one largely based on functional disability to make para-swimming more competitive. The sport is currently moving towards an evidence-based classification system.

Tonights race has two S9 and three S10 classified athletes competing.