The Sense Awards recognise the outstanding achievements of people with complex disabilities, as well as the staff, carers, family members, volunteers and fundraisers that support them.

This year’s ceremony took place on 20th September at Sense’s pioneering multi-purpose venue TouchBase Pears in Birmingham. The special guest host was disability correspondent and TV Presenter, Nikki Fox.

2018 Sense Awards shortlist and winners:

Person of the Year
Winner: Marcos Sanjurjo-Preito

Shortlisted nominees: Simon Giles, Lucy McKenna, John Churcher

Young Person of the Year
Winner: Harry Headland

Shortlisted nominees: Skye Cohen, Laely Begum and Jenny, David Fernandes, Abdullah Mohammed

Young Sibling of the Year
Winner: Johnson Lewis

Shortlisted nominees: Ethan Howarth, Haydon Meredith

Carer of the Year
Winner: Satnam Kaur

Shortlisted nominees: Naomi Weare, Inge Ahmad, Chandrika Gopalakrishnan

Volunteer of the Year
Winner: Emma Bowie

Shortlisted nominees: Amy Thomas, Matthew Boyce, Amelia Steeds

Fundraiser of the Year
Winner: Stu and Tim Mather

Shortlisted nominees: Chris Brennan and Lindsay Wickham, Paramjit Gakhal, Gabrielle Pearce

Collaboration of the Year
Winner: Mazars

Shortlisted nominees: Birmingham Community Libraries, Henry Fraser

Diane Cardwell Sense Award for Professional Excellence
Winner: Harwood Gardens Staff Team

Shortlisted nominees: Nicky Jones, Kirstie Haywood, Tower Hamlets Buddying Programme

Peggy Freeman Exceptional Contribution to Sense
Gillian Morbey OBE

Quality Service Award
Accommodation Service Station Road, Birmingham

Journalist of the year
Nikki Fox

Parliamentarian of the year
The Rt Hon Lord Bates